Gamma Epsilon Tau Will Honor Romano, Hotzler with ‘Gold Key Awards’

NEW YORK CITY—April 22, 2009—Gamma Chapter of Gamma Epsilon Tau, the national graphic arts honor society, will present its 2009 Gold Key Awards to Diane Romano and Russell K. Hotzler.

Romano, president and COO of HudsonYards, has been a leading figure in New York City’s graphic communications industry for many years. As president of New York City College of Technology (NYCCT), a unit of the City University of New York (CUNY), Hotzler directs an institution that includes one of the nation’s largest academic programs in graphic communications.

Both will be honored on May 29 for exceptional contributions to the advancement of the industry, particularly in education and professional development.

At HudsonYards, Romano oversees a team that provides premedia, creative, and visual communications services to advertising agencies, publishers, and other clients. HudsonYards, a division of The Caps Group, is the present-day incarnation of a series of prepress and premedia service firms with which Romano has been associated for the last 40 years.

She began her career in 1967 as a draftsman and joined Publishers Phototype Inc. in 1969. Eventually becoming its president, she went on to serve in chief executive roles at Applied Graphics Technologies, AGT/Seven, Seven Worldwide, and Schawk Inc. HudsonYards was acquired from Schawk by The Caps Group in 2006. Throughout her tenure, she has pioneered the adoption of many electronic and digital production technologies.

Perennially active in industry affairs, Romano is a former chairman of the Association of Graphic Communications (AGC) and co-chairs the advisory board of the Center for Graphic Communications Management and Technology at New York University. Her many honors include the 2007 Advertising Production Person of the Year (APPY) Award; the 2005 Florence Joachim Woman Executive of the Year Award from Printing News; the AGC Power of Communications Award; the Luminaire Award from Women in Production; and The David G. Jensen Memorial Award from IDEAlliance.

Related Content