Open Enrollment | Subscribe to Printing Impressions HERE
Follow us on


August 2005

X-Rite has achieved ISO 17025 accreditation for its Grandville, MI, headquarters and GmbH operations in Germany.

KBA North America has named Michael Iburg to the position of product specialist. Iburg will be the lead representative for the technical and applications issues for the KBA sales staff, press and trade magazine editors, and customers who are seeking information and explanation on KBA's press equipment.

In June, Mohawk Paper Mills began using 45 million kilowatt hours (kWh) of pollution-free wind power annually to run its two mills in New York, as well as a newly purchased facility in Ohio. With this annual consumption, Mohawk Paper reportedly will become a national leader in the use of wind power for manufacturing, second only to Johnson & Johnson, one of the largest consumers of electricity in the United States. Mohawk Paper Mills are the only paper mills in the U.S. to use wind energy to manufacture paper.

BCC Software President and CEO K. Jon Runstrom and Executive Vice President Erik Runstrom have been honored with the 2005 L.U. Luke Kaiser Educational Award from the MFSA. In other news, BCC has formed a strategic alliance with Direct Logistics Inc. (DLI), that will result in Destination Entry drop-ship logistics services being made available directly to BCC customers.

SDI (Strategic Distribution Inc.), a provider of MRO supply chain management services, announced the appointment of Philip Flynt as vice president, CFO and treasurer.

Böwe Bell + Howell and Emtex Software have signed an agreement to offer complete, end-to-end automated document factory (ADF) solutions. The combination of Böwe Bell + Howell's enterprise production and integrity solutions with Emtex print output management systems will enable companies to integrate ADF capabilities into any print and mail environment.

Day International introduced a new sales and technical support organization designed to enhance customer support and service. The appointments in the new organization include: Mark Barrington, senior vice president/sales and marketing, Image Transfer Group; Greg Johnson, vice president/sales, key accounts; Mike Neroni, vice president/marketing and national accounts; Al Strake, director, channel sales; Dennis Florek, director, applications group; Terry Brady, director of sales, Northeast region; and Jeff Balcer, director of sales, Southeast region.

Lynne Gehrke and Thomas Garms have joined the managerial team at Base-Line Inc. Previously vice president of procurement with ABDick, Gehrke will act as Base-Line's vice president of operations. Garms was named director of national accounts for Base-Line. Prior to joining Base-Line, Garms was a senior area manager for BBA Fiberweb's national accounts.

Stora Enso has awarded $1 million to implement six innovative energy conservation projects within its North American operations for 2005. Once implemented, the six projects reportedly will not only provide a financial return on the initial investment in less than 10 months, they will also result in significant reductions in fossil fuel usage and positive impacts on the environment.

The Association of Graphic Communications (AGC) has honored Benny Landa, HP strategic advisor and founder of the HP Indigo division, with the Power of Communications Award for Innovation & Technology.

Bobst Group has entered into an agreement with Gerber Innovations (a division of Gerber Scientific) to distribute the Gerber Profile die tool production system.

NPES The Association for Suppliers of Printing, Publishing and Converting Technologies has announced the appointment of Douglas Sprei as assistant director of communications and marketing. NPES also has elected four new members of the board of directors. The new directors are Gary Dolgins, CEO of Citiplate Inc.; Patricia Janssen, senior vice president of MacDermid Printing Solutions; Robert Stabler, president of Nipson North America; and Wayne Wasulko, president and founder of RIPit Computer Corp.

Markzware Inc. announced open enrollment in its Markzware Business Affiliate Program for printers and publishers. Companies opting into the program, free-of-charge, agree to display Markzware-developed solutions via their own Website. In turn, each affiliate receives a 10 percent commission on Markzware solutions sold through the affiliate's Website.

Sun Chemical reports that Jamie Sutphin has joined North American Publication Inks as business development manager. Sutphin is a career sales professional who has been in the publication ink industry for 20 years. He is based in Cincinnati.

Antonio Perez, CEO and president of Eastman Kodak, received the 2005 Prism Award, presented annually by New York University in recognition of distinguished leadership in the graphic arts and communications industry. The award was presented during the 20th Annual Prism Award Luncheon at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Karl Puehringer has been elected president and COO of Baldwin Technology. He has been with the company since 2001, most recently serving as vice president, European operations.

The Accrediting Council for Collegiate Graphic Communications (ACCGC) has expanded to include corporate sponsorships. The first three ACCGC Sustaining Corporate Affiliates are Heidelberg USA, Kodak Polychrome Graphics and Quad/Graphics.

Steve James has joined the North American sales team at Prime UV as Southeastern regional sales manager. He will direct sales in Alabama, Florida and Georgia.


Click here to leave a comment...
Comment *
Most Recent Comments: