Public Printer Charts Future Course of GPO

He also requested $10 million to cover the costs of a retirement incentive program to enable the GPO to manage the size, composition and skills of its work force as required by rapidly changing technology. This buyout program, implemented in April, is reportedly designed to reduce the work force by 300 positions and generate annual savings of $18 million.

Public Printer Names New GPO Leadership

WASHINGTON, DC—William H. Turri has been named deputy public printer, the second-highest position within the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). As deputy public printer, Turri will serve as COO of the GPO, responsible for overseeing its day-to-day printing, print procurement and information dissemination operations.

Turri comes to the GPO following a lifelong career in the printing industry. He has served as COO of Monroe Litho, where he later served as president from 1993 to 1995. In 1995, he was named president of Case-Hoyt and became a member of its board of directors, retiring in 2001.

Turri succeeds George A. Taylor, who is leaving the GPO to spend more time with his family.

Bruce R. James, public printer of the United States, has also announced four other appointments to the new organizational structure of the GPO.

James C. Bradley has been named managing director of customer services. Previously, Bradley directed the GPO’s former customer services operation from 1997 to 2003. He came to the GPO from the Joint Committee on Printing.

Robert E. Schwenk is now managing director of plant operations. Schwenk is a graduate of the GPO’s apprentice program. He rose through the ranks to become superintendent of the GPO’s electronic photocomposition division. For the past four months, he served as acting production manager for the GPO, directing all plant operations.

William L. Boesch Jr. has been named comptroller. Boesch is the fourth generation of his family to work in the printing industry. He came to GPO in 1979 as a systems accountant. In 1982, he was made chief of the General Ledger and Property Section and in 1985 he was promoted to chief of the General Accounting Branch.

Related Content