Graphic Arts

GAERF Supports U.S. Participation in Worldskills Offset Printing Competition
April 1, 2009

For the first time ever a student from the U.S. will compete in the WorldSkills offset printing competition to be held September 1-7, 2009, in Calgary, Canada. Amela Mujkic, a senior at Ferris State University, was recently selected from among three competitors at the qualifying competition held at Heidelberg USA's Print Media Academy, Buffalo Grove, IL.

Best of Show Award Winners Announced at On Demand
March 31, 2009

At the awards ceremony this afternoon at the On Demand Conference & Expo, InfoTrends, a leading market research and consulting firm in the digital imaging and document solutions industry, announced the winners of the fourth annual On Demand Best of Show Awards program.

TAGA Holds Technical Conference; Elects New Board
March 25, 2009

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA), held its 61st Annual Technical Conference at the beautiful and historic Hotel Monteleone, located on the world famous Royal Street in New Orleans, LA, on March 15-18, 2009.

Irvin J. Borowsky Chosen as Neographics 2009 'Person of the Year'
March 24, 2009

The Graphic Arts Association has named Irvin J. Borowsky as the 2009 Neographics “Person of the Year.” Mr. Borowsky truly exemplifies all of the characteristics that qualified him as the 2009 “Person of the Year.” Borowsky will receive this award of recognition at the Neographics® dinner and awards ceremony on Thursday, May 7, 2009 at the Union League, 140 S. Broad St., Philadelphia, PA at 7:00 p.m.

PrintED Launches Ninth Area of Accreditation
March 16, 2009

The Graphic Arts Education and Research Foundation (GAERF) has launched PrintED's newest area of accreditation: Advertising & Design. Because today's printing and publishing industry is symbiotically tied to graphic designers, and the design process is an essential element in the print workflow, accreditation in Advertising & Design is a natural addition to the PrintED core competencies.

PRINT 09 Announces Media Days for Industry Editors
March 16, 2009

The Graphic Arts Show Company (GASC) today announced the launch of PRINT 09 Media Days, to be held June 16-17, 2009 in Chicago, IL, in advance of the global PRINT 09 trade show and conference. PRINT 09, coming to Chicago’s McCormick Place September 11-16, 2009, is the year’s largest and most comprehensive graphic communications trade show and conference.

Xplor Names Jeffrey Hayzlett as Chairman's Award Recipient for 2009
March 6, 2009

Xplor International, the worldwide electronic document systems association, today announced the recipient of their Chairman’s Award for 2009. Jeffrey Hayzlett, Chief Marketing Officer and Vice President of Eastman Kodak Company, was selected to receive this year’s award, presented annually to a person who, in the opinion of Xplor’s chairman, has had a significant impact on furthering the Xplor mission.

Printing Impressions Partners with InfoTrends to Offer e-Learning Solutions
March 6, 2009

Printing Impressions Magazine, the leading authority on industry trends, emerging technologies news in the Graphic Arts industry, is pleased to announce that it has partnered with InfoTrends, the leading worldwide market research and strategic consulting firm for the digital imaging and document solutions industry, to offer readers access to InfoTrends e-Learning sales training program.

CIP4 Announces 2009 CIPPI Awards Program
February 27, 2009

The International Cooperation for the Integration of the Processes in Prepress, Press and Postpress (CIP4) organization announced details of its 2009 annual Jürgen Schönhut Memorial CIP4 International Print Production Innovation (CIPPI) Awards Program. Applications are due Friday, June 26, 2009 and the awards will be presented to the winners during Print 2009 in Chicago, IL.

TAGA Announces Keynote Speakers for Technical Conference
February 10, 2009

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) proudly announces the keynote speakers for its 61st  Annual Technical Conference taking place on March 15-18 in New Orleans - Dr. Carol Werlé, Clarence Penge, Gary Dispoto, and Robert C. Tapella.