Open Enrollment | Subscribe to Printing Impressions HERE
Follow us on

Printing Industries of America Seeking Nominations for Industry Awards

July 7, 2011
PITTSBURGH—July 7, 2011—Printing Industries of America is now accepting nominations for the Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award and the Naomi Berber Memorial Award.

The Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes a business leader who has gone far beyond standard obligations and has become a significant force in the graphic arts industry.

To qualify to receive the Lewis Award, a nominee must:

• Be widely recognized as having made a major impact on the graphic arts industry.

• Have a record of participating in both local and national professional activities

• Have been active in the industry over an extended period of time and involved in many facets of the graphic arts industry

• Not be an employee of any graphic arts association

The nominee need not be a member of Printing Industries of America, is not limited by age, sex, race or geographic location, and may be either living or deceased. Nominations for the Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award are due August 31, 2011. The nomination form can be found online.

The Naomi Berber Memorial Award
Established in 1976 by the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation’s Society of Fellows, now Printing Industries of America’s Ben Franklin Honor Society, this award honors the distinguished 45-year career of Naomi Berber, GATF’s first administrative director (1925–1970). The award is given to a woman who personifies the Naomi Berber attitude of excelling in her field of graphic communication and also volunteers their time to improve the industry.

Nominees for this award must fulfill this criteria:

• A candidate must have worked in the graphic communications industry for ten years or more.

• A candidate must have an outstanding record of accomplishments that demonstrates her unusual contribution toward the development of the graphic communications industry. Such contributions could be in the form of extraordinary leadership, direction, and/or support of programs or projects that have furthered the interests of the industry.

• A candidate’s activities must have extended over a 10 year period, and her contribution should not be confined to a single project, development, or program.

The nomination form can be found online.

Both recipients will be selected by a panel of industry leaders and honored before hundreds of peers at Printing Industries of America’s Fall Meetings, November 11–13 in Miami Beach, FL. For additional information on the Lewis Award or the Naomi Berber Award, contact Sara Welsh at (800) 910-4283 ext. 705 or

About Printing Industries of America
Printing Industries of America is the world’s largest graphic arts trade association, representing an industry with approximately one million employees. It serves the interests of more than 10,000 member companies. Together with its nationwide affiliate network, Printing Industries delivers products and services that enhance the growth, efficiency, and profitability of its members and the graphic communications industry through advocacy, education, research and technical information.

About the Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award
Established in 1950 and named for Abraham Lewis, founder of Graphic Arts Monthly, and his sons Louis and Myron, the Lewis Award is recognized throughout the graphic arts industry as the highest honor awarded to any individual in our business. Past recipients include Ray Roper, Harry Quadracci, Gaylord Donnelley, Harold Gegenheimer, and James Hammer.

About the Naomi Berber
Naomi Berber (1905–1973) began her career in New York as executive secretary to the president of the Lithographic Technical Foundation, predecessor to GATF. In 1965, when GATF brought its education, research, and administrative offices under one roof in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Ms. Berber moved to Pittsburgh to continue her work with the Foundation. Ms. Berber was known by her colleagues as the “First Lady of the Foundation,” and was the first woman elected to the Society of Fellows.

Source: PIA.


Click here to leave a comment...
Comment *
Most Recent Comments: