Huston Patterson, Decatur, IL, was recently named a finalist for the 2006 “Innovator of the Year” award by the Association of Independent Corrugated Converters (AICC) for the large-format printing company’s new, branded HPx Program. In developing the comprehensive client services program, Huston Patterson performed a complete analysis of operations, gathering internal perspective on performance from employees and management, and obtaining an external perspective from clients. The information was compiled with a Web-based assessment tool.

Six printers from across the country gathered in October for the first meeting of the newest PIA/GATF Printing Executive Network (PEN) Eagle-2006 group. Hosted by Haves McNeal, president and CEO, Creative Printing Services, Des Plaines, IL, members toured his plant and discussed the challenges the group faces. Other members attending were: Robert Anderson, president, Prisma Graphics, Phoenix; Chris Kurtzman, president, Bang Printing, Brainerd, MN; Chris Illman, president, Coakley Tech, Milwaukee; John Robinson, CEO and owner, GHP, West Haven, CT; and Randall Steenbergen, CEO and owner, Print Communications, Indianapolis. Unable to attend the first meeting were members Dan Mahany, president, Canfield & Tack, Rochester, NY; and Erwin Hudelist, president, Hagadone Printing, Honolulu. Sales volume for the group ranges from $15 million to $35 million.

The Graphic Arts Association (GAA) elected John Rosenthal as the new chairman of the board of directors at its annual meeting. Rosenthal has been a member of GAA for nine years. He is the owner and president of Digital Color Graphics in Southampton, PA.

Bramkamp Printing of Cincinnati announced that Adam Brinkman has joined the company as a customer service/sales representative. Bramkamp has also promoted John Taylor to pressroom production manager.

Dr. Adrian J. Bernagozzi, professor and administrator, University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO, was presented with the Dr. Richard F. Hannemann Service Award during the annual board of directors meeting of the Accrediting Council for Collegiate Graphic Communications (ACCGC). This award was named for the first president of ACCGC, the late Dr. Richard F. Hannemann, who was a professor at California State University-Chico. Dr. Bernagozzi is the first person to receive this award.

Related Content