Open Enrollment | Subscribe to Printing Impressions HERE
Follow us on


December 2006
German-Themed Event Successful

TROY, MI—More than 800 clients, vendors and friends of Tepel Brothers Printing sampled bratwurst and strudel, and enjoyed authentic entertainment by the Frankenmuth Schuhplattlers at the company’s fourth Oktoberfest celebration.

Tepel Brothers Printing President Jim Tepel, left, and Vice President Harriet Tepel awarded their Oktoberfest grand door prize of a trip to Germany to Laura Jerome. The client from Anchor Bay Entertainment said the trip for two will make an ideal honeymoon following her wedding next summer.

The Ben Franklin Society of PIA/GATF inducted 12 new members at an annual black-tie ceremony in November. The new members are: William Bachman, Cohber Press, Rochester, NY; Sidney Chadwick, Chadwick Consulting, Lewisville, NC; William Coale, retired, Alcom Printing Group, Harleysville, PA; William Farmer, Farmer & Associates, Central Point, OR; G. Kenneth Engle, Magna Graphics, Lexington, KY; James Gordon, Winston Printing, Winston-Salem, NC; John Hamm, John M. Hamm & Associates, Annapolis, MD; Terry Heyer, Print & Graphic Association Mid-Atlantic, Columbia, MD; Michael Makin, PIA/GATF, Sewickley, PA; Ralph Moore, Commercial Printing, Raleigh, NC; Frank Woods, Steve Woods Printing Co., Phoenix; and Frank Gualtieri, posthumously, PIA/GATF, Sewickley, PA.

La Crosse, WI-based Prizm, a provider of printing and marketing services, has filled its marketing director position with the hiring of Dawn Spalding.

Randy Colahan, Peter Colahan and Peter Burke, formerly partners in CS/RAAD/Colahan Saunders, have joined FLM Graphics of Fairfield, NJ, with sales and management responsibilities.

The Printing Industry of Illinois/Indiana Association (PII) held its 79th annual meeting recently. Jory Siegel, president of Imagine Print Group, Niles, IL, was distinguished for his service over the past year as chairman of the board of directors. Also, Richard Kuntz received an honorary lifetime membership in PII. Now retired, Kuntz logged 47 years of membership and sat on the board of directors for 24 years. He acted as chairman from 2001-2002.

Huston Patterson, Decatur, IL, was recently named a finalist for the 2006 “Innovator of the Year” award by the Association of Independent Corrugated Converters (AICC) for the large-format printing company’s new, branded HPx Program. In developing the comprehensive client services program, Huston Patterson performed a complete analysis of operations, gathering internal perspective on performance from employees and management, and obtaining an external perspective from clients. The information was compiled with a Web-based assessment tool.

Six printers from across the country gathered in October for the first meeting of the newest PIA/GATF Printing Executive Network (PEN) Eagle-2006 group. Hosted by Haves McNeal, president and CEO, Creative Printing Services, Des Plaines, IL, members toured his plant and discussed the challenges the group faces. Other members attending were: Robert Anderson, president, Prisma Graphics, Phoenix; Chris Kurtzman, president, Bang Printing, Brainerd, MN; Chris Illman, president, Coakley Tech, Milwaukee; John Robinson, CEO and owner, GHP, West Haven, CT; and Randall Steenbergen, CEO and owner, Print Communications, Indianapolis. Unable to attend the first meeting were members Dan Mahany, president, Canfield & Tack, Rochester, NY; and Erwin Hudelist, president, Hagadone Printing, Honolulu. Sales volume for the group ranges from $15 million to $35 million.

The Graphic Arts Association (GAA) elected John Rosenthal as the new chairman of the board of directors at its annual meeting. Rosenthal has been a member of GAA for nine years. He is the owner and president of Digital Color Graphics in Southampton, PA.

Bramkamp Printing of Cincinnati announced that Adam Brinkman has joined the company as a customer service/sales representative. Bramkamp has also promoted John Taylor to pressroom production manager.

Dr. Adrian J. Bernagozzi, professor and administrator, University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO, was presented with the Dr. Richard F. Hannemann Service Award during the annual board of directors meeting of the Accrediting Council for Collegiate Graphic Communications (ACCGC). This award was named for the first president of ACCGC, the late Dr. Richard F. Hannemann, who was a professor at California State University-Chico. Dr. Bernagozzi is the first person to receive this award.

Anderberg-Lund Printing, in St. Louis Park, MN, has announced a number of personnel moves. Nick Pastorius is the new Jet press operator. Jon Bishop moves from scheduling manager to plant manager. Dan Nelson transitions into the scheduling and purchasing/planning manager role. Betty Tomford is new to the purchasing/planning department. And Melanie Davis has been hired as the receptionist.

Art Litho Printing Solutions has welcomed new account executive Kathi Russ Hergenroeder to its Baltimore office.

For the second time in three years, the PrintED accredited graphic communications program at Royal Oak High School in Royal Oak, MI, has produced a national winner at the SkillsUSA Championships. Michael Fleming took home the gold medal after competing against winners from 33 other states. He has earned Royal Oak High School the use of a Heidelberg Printmaster press for a year.

Direct Group, Pennington, NJ, promoted Pat O’Brien to senior vice president, sales and marketing. In this role, O’Brien is responsible for sales for the full company, across all services and products. In addition, Executive Vice President Chris Ryan’s role has been expanded to include oversight of service, quality, sales and marketing. PI


Click here to leave a comment...
Comment *
Most Recent Comments: