Open Enrollment | Subscribe to Printing Impressions HERE
Follow us on


February 2003
The Label Printing Industry Association (LPIA), a special industry group of the Printing Industries of America, recently inducted William Smyth Jr., of Smyth Companies, St. Paul, MN, into the LPIA Hall of Fame.

The Graphic Arts Education and Research Foundation (GAERF) recently completed a total revision of the competencies that form the basis for instruction in PrintED, a national accreditation program for graphic communications at the secondary and post-secondary levels. In addition, GAERF has begun developing a national exit exam for students in PrintED classes to accommodate its adoption as a state-mandated program.

The National Council for Skill Standards in Graphic Communications has announced new officers and board members for 2003. The executive committee and officers include: Susan Kinney, board chairman, owner/president, The Castle Press; Donald Friedel, board vice-chair, vice president of organizational development, Anderson Lithograph; Frank Kanonik, secretary/treasurer, national program manager, customer education services, Xerox Corp. Co-chairs of the skill standards and certification committee include: Alan Clayton, supervisor, program development, Westinghouse Savannah River Co.; and Richard Mix, technical director, Flexographic Technical Association. Co-chairs of the promotion and dissemination committee: Raymond Corigliano, division technical trainer, Vertis Inc.; and William Kindt, quality manager, Worth Higgins & Associates. New board members include Paul Fecke, general manager of press operations, Quad/Graphics; James Goff, bindery manager, Vertis Inc.; Charles Kruger, quality and training specialist, Lake County Press; Damian McInerney, training specialist, Cadmus Communications; Todd Roth, press department director, The West Group; and Cindy Cole Semans, process and skills improvement manager, Packaging Corp. of America.

Gregg Leland has been named as vice president of operations for Chicago-based Rider Dickerson.

PIA MidAmerica has elected new officers for the next fiscal year. The association's incoming chairman is John Frullo, vice president of Midtown Printing & Graphics, Lubbock, TX. Chuck Chalifoux is vice chairman. He is president and CEO of ColorDynamics, Allen, TX. The second vice-chairman is David DeLana, president and CEO of Heritage Press, El Reno, OK. Secretary is Michael Wurst, president and CEO of Henry Wurst Inc., North Kansas City, MO. John Barry fills the position of treasurer. Barry is the owner and president of Jay Kay Press, Dallas. John Snyder, the association's present chairman, will serve as an officer of the association and hold the position of immediate past-chairman. Snyder is the president of Johnston Printing, Dallas.

The Ash Khan Honor Society of the Printing Industries of America has inducted 13 new members. The Ash Khan Honor Society was established in 1950 to honor members of the PIA for their contributions and service to the printing industry at local affiliate or national association levels. The inductees are: Randolph Camp, president of Walton Graphic Media, Monroe, GA; J. Lawrence Cox, president and CEO of McClellan Enterprises, Tulsa, OK; William Eckhart, president of Eckhart & Co., an Indianapolis-based trade bindery; Edward Hill, (retired) president of the PIA Web Offset Association; Craig Jilk, (retired) vice president of engineering, manufacturing and distribution, The West Group of Minnesota; Martin Krebs, (retired) owner and president of Sells Printing, New Berlin, WI; Thomas Lamirato, president of L&M Printing, Denver; Lawrence Miller, vice president of sales of Zirkon-Timsons, Green Bay, WI; Thomas Reeves, (retired) president of Kelmscott Printing in Aurora, IL; Mickey Rodich, president and owner of Automated Binding & Mailing in Rancho Dominguez, CA; Gene Scott, president and chairman of DOWSCO Inc. and Pony X Press Printing Services, Reynoldsburg, OH; William Stickney, (retired) president of the PIA Association, serving Northern Kentucky and Ohio (PIANKO); and Boyer Lewis Veitch, chairman of The Veitch Printing Corp., Lancaster, PA.

James Herbst, president of the commercial print group of Henry Wurst Inc., Apex, NC, was recently named chair of the board of directors for the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation (GATF). Expected to hold their positions for one year, the officers are: vice-chair, Jim Mayers, president of Colorcraft of Virginia, Sterling, VA; treasurer, Charles Zunk, an industry consultant based in Cincinnati; and secretary, Laura Gale, vice president of priNexus, Norcross, GA.

Larry Warter, director of new business development for Fuji Photo Film U.S.A., will extend his term as the Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation (PGSF) chairman another year. As such, the executive committee for the PGSF board of directors will remain the same with the exception of Jeff White, director of sales operations at Printcafe Software, who becomes the newly elected secretary of the board. Other new members of the 36-person PGSF board are: George Diamantis, president of National Print Group,Chattanooga, TN; Susan Kelly, president of Raine Consulting, Glen Ellyn, IL; and Doug Yeager, vice president of manufacturing at Alcom Printing Group, Harleysville, PA.

The Regional Printing Industry Advisory Group (RPIAG) has announced its new board of directors. It includes Chairman Scott Landis, Berryville Graphics; Secretary Thomas Dahbura, Hub Labels; and immediate past chair Bill Pence, Perry Judd's. Board members include: Christine Buckley-Henry, Buckley's Printing; Garon Gembe, Graphics Universal; and Ed Altemose, Quebecor World.

PrintImage International—formerly the National Association of Quick Printers—has selected the winners of the 2003 Association Awards. The Printer of the Year is Becky Whatley, Quality Printing, Riverside, CA. The Honorary Lifetime Member award winner is Carl Gerhardt, Allegra Print & Imaging, Colorado Springs, CO. The Industry Award of Distinction went to Debra Thompson, TG & Associates, Tucson, AZ.

John Sample has been hired as the director of sales and marketing at Peake Printers, Cheverly, MD. Sample has 12 years of sales and marketing experience in the printing industry.

Amy Sanchez has been promoted to manager of customer service for Custom Printing, Oxnard, CA. Sanchez has worked for the firm for two years. She formerly was a sales assistant.

Paul Nicholson has been promoted to vice president of MIS at EU Services, Rockville, MD. Nicholson began his career at EU Services over four years ago as a computer programmer. In other company news, Gary Belski has been promoted to sales executive with EU's sales division. A long-time employee of EU, Belski began his career in 1992 as a sheetfed press operator, and transferred into estimating and job planning five years ago.

Sonia O'Donnell has been named manager of new business development for the Graphic Arts Show Co. In her newly created position, O'Donnell will develop specialized exhibit platforms and related educational forums for all GASC venues designed to showcase technology opportunities for printers seeking diversification.

I. Gregg Van Wert has announced the formation of The Haven Group, a consultancy that specializes in advancing the business, communications and planning objectives of client companies. Van Wert is the former president of the National Association for Printing Leadership (NAPL).


Click here to leave a comment...
Comment *
Most Recent Comments: