2009 Franklin Event Awards Industry Excellence

Shown, from left, are the Franklin honorees: Baussan, Carrabba, Whittaker, Black and Pagani.

NEW YORK—More than 400 CEOs, senior executives and industry professionals congregated in Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers recently for the 2009 Franklin Event, sponsored by the Printing Industries Alliance (PIA).

Cathie Black, president of Hearst Magazines, took center stage by accepting the Franklin Award for Distinguished Service. The Power of Communications honorees were Patrick Pagani of Dolce Printing in the printing category, Lori Carrabba of Oglivy Healthword (advertising), and Celie Baussan of SourceMedia (publishing). Stephen Whittaker of Monroe Litho was bestowed the John Peter Zenger Medal for Service to Country.